carsharing_faq

Tips & tricks for using DriveNow's app and cars

Relax behind the wheel with DriveNow car sharing: our tips & tricks will make sure you're always up to date. These practical tips for using our app, as well as our BMWs and MINIs, will make sure that you arrive at your destination quickly.

carsharing_tips-and-tricks-handshake-customerA
1/3
Car handover using the Handshake

 

Looking for a parking space is a thing of the past! In German DriveNow cities,  cars can be handed over virtually without stopping. How does the Handshake work?

If you're the current driver:

Enter your destination in the DriveNow car sharing app and activate the option "Handshake at destination".

carsharing_tips-and-tricks-handshake-reserved
1/3
Car handover using the Handshake

 

If you're the next driver: The app shows you when a car is available with a Handshake, clearly marking its current location with an arrow. When you select the car, you will be able to see the driver's estimated time of arrival. A simple click will reserve the car for you in the usual way.

If you're the current driver: The cockpit display will inform you as soon as your car has been reserved.

If you're the next driver: Once you've reserved your car, the driver's final destination will be marked with a flag in the app, and you'll be able to follow the car's arrival with the arrow symbol.

carsharing_tips-and-tricks-handshake-customerB
1/3
Car handover using the Handshake

 

If you're the current driver:  

Once you reach your destination, stop the engine and – if the next driver is there – select the "Handover your car" on the display.

Important: If the next driver does not turn up to receive the car, you can leave the vehicle in any free parking space and end your rental as usual.

If you're the next driver:  

Have you found the driver of the car you've reserved? Wait until he has clicked on "Handover your car", then click on "Take over" in the app. The Handshake is now complete! Jump in and make yourself comfy. Your rental begins – as usual – as soon as you enter your PIN.